Raw Remix: Chips and Salsa

I could talk for hours about how wonderful eating a 100% raw diet makes me feel and all that it gives me—the energy, the sweetness, the freshness, the chance for me to be creative, innovative, artistic, and the list goes on. Nevertheless, leading this said lifestyle can be challenging at times, particularly when it comes to social eating.

I am lucky to be surrounded by amazing family and friends who support my fully raw lifestyle, but there are always parties and holidays and family gatherings where cooked and processed foods collect in abundance.

While it’s tough to tell people I don’t want to eat my own birthday cake, social events can also be used as a time for me to share my passion and my recipes with others and to get people to understand why I eat the way that I do. Most often, people are amazed that my dishes do not contain any refined sugars or preservatives and they find themselves reaching for seconds, thirds, or even the whole dish.

Below is my raw remix of the classic party dish: chips and salsa. Bring this to your next fiesta and even if no one wants to dig in don’t let it get you down because you can eat the entire platter yourself and feel great that you did!

salsa

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Servings: These measurements make approximately 3 cups of salsa

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 on-the-vine tomatoes
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 small orange bell pepper
  • 1 small yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 of a white onion
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 1/2 of an avocado
  • Small handfull of fresh cilantro
  • 1 TBSP fresh lime juice
  • 1 TBSP fresh lemon juice
  • 2 zucchinis 
  • 2 yellow squashes

Directions

Salsa:

1. peel both on-the-vine tomatoes and chop into small cubes, saving all the tomato juice. Place in a large mixing bowl.

2. Place cherry tomatoes, cilantro, garlic, white onion, and yellow and orange bell peppers into a VitaMix (or blender of your choice) or a food processor. Blend on level 1 (or low speed) until ingredients are chopped (be careful not to over blend and make salsa soup!). If you like a chunky salsa, chop ingredients with a knife. Add ingredients into the large mixing bowl with the chopped on-the-vine tomatoes.

3. Cut avocado into small cubes and add to the mixture. Pour in the fresh lemon and lime juice and gently mix the ingredients together with a large spoon.

4. Pour salsa into a serving dish and garnish with some cilantro leaves.

Chips:

1. Using a crinkle cut knife, chop 1/2″ slices of zucchini and yellow squash. I picked my knife up at Bed Bath & Beyond (pictured below). You can also find them on Amazon.

knife

Extra:

  • If you prefer hot salsa, add some chopped jalapeno peppers.
  • Turn this recipe into a chunky mango salsa by adding in 1 peeled and chopped mango (Pictured below).

mango

5 responses to “Raw Remix: Chips and Salsa

Leave a Reply

