Savory Winter Carrot Ginger Soup

After a gigantic tropical fruity breakfast smoothie this morning and a big green salad mixed with strawberries and oranges this afternoon, I knew I was going to crave something savory, spicy, and comforting for dinner. Just after lunch, I glanced out the window to white fluffy flakes of Nemo (the blizzard, not the fish) and I knew it was going to be a souper night.

soup ingred

Since I was not at all in the mood to go out trudging through a sea of slush and snow to procure ingredients, I took stock of what I had on hand and decided to whip up a quick carrot ginger soup. To my pleasant surprise, its robust flavor successfully satiated my comfort-craving taste buds. So until Nemo swims away, I’ll just keep souping, just keep souping..

soup

Prep Time: 12 minutes

Servings: Approximately 3 cups of soup (2 bowls)

  • Ingredients:
  • 4 large washed and chopped raw carrots
  • 3 washed and chopped celery sticks
  • 3 white mushrooms
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 2 small orage bell peppers (or half of one large orange or yellow bell pepper)
  • 1.5 TBSP chopped white onion
  • 1 inch peeled fresh ginger
  • 3/4 inch peeled fresh turmeric
  • 1 TBSP green chili pepper (if you don’t like extra spice, I would leave this out)
  • 1 cup warm water

Directions:

1. Place all ingredients in a VitaMix blender or high-speed blender of your choice.

2. Turn blender on low and increase speed as the ingredients begin to blend. Blend on high for 1-2 minutes or until completely smooth.

3. Garnish with alfalfa sprouts, raw hulled pumpkin or sunflower seeds, chopped green onion, and parsley.

Extra:

  • If you prefer the soup on the sweeter side, replace the green chili pepper with one small peeled orange.
  • If you prefer a creamier texture, add 1/4 cup soaked cashews to the mix. (Soak raw cashews in water for at least two hours to liven the enzymes and increase vitamin content)

2 responses to “Savory Winter Carrot Ginger Soup

  1. Good web site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  2. Pingback: The 7 Day RAW Challenge | Simply Whole Foods·

Leave a Reply

