Winter Persimmon Smoothie

There are some things about winter that make me a little bitter– the snow, the hail, the gusting winds, and the freezing temperatures, just to name a few. But all things considered, I do welcome winter every year, as it brings in some of the most delicious seasonal fruits. I relish the sweet juicy taste of blood oranges, pomegranate seeds, cranberries, Asian pears, and clementines. But one winter super fruit that I had never tried until about two weeks ago is the persimmon. Oh my goodness. Let me just say that I cannot believe that it took me 21 winters on this earth to discover these gems.

1

I then learned that in addition to the wonderful taste, persimmons have a wide range of health benefits. They are chockfull of antioxidants like vitamin-A, beta-carotene, lycopene, and lutein and they are a great source of dietary fiber, vitamin C, and  B-complex vitamins (like folic acid). Persimmons are also low in calories (about 70 cal per 100 grams) and they contain healthy amounts of minerals like potassium, manganese, copper , and phosphorus.

If you, like me, are new to the persimmon, the first thing you want to know is how to tell when it’s ripe. When I picked up my first persimmon it was hard like an apple, so naturally I bit into it like I would an apple. Bad move. I literally learned the hard way that persimmons are ripe when they are super squishy, almost like a tomato. Also, the flesh is edible, but I prefer to cut the top off and scoop out the pulp, which what I used to make this wonderful winter smoothie:

persim

Prep Time: 8 minutes

Servings: One smoothie (About 2 cups)

  • Ingredients:
  • Pulp of 5 ripe persimmons
  • 2 bananas
  • 1/2 TSP ground cinnamon
  • 4 large ice cubes

Directions:

1. Slice the top off of the persimmons and scoop the pulp into a blender

1. Add the bananas, cinnamon, and ice  and blend the ingredients until completely smooth.

2. Garnish with sprinkled ground cinnamon and/or a whole cinnamon stick. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

