St. Patrick’s Day Cucumber Cups

I’m only 25% Irish but I think it’s safe to say that today my blood is running %100 green. To celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, I’v been eating all green, all day. Yes, ALL green and nothing but green (okay, lemon juice and garlic are the small exceptions). I wanted to call it my St. Patrick’s Day “challenge” but I think it’s more appropriate to call it a “celebration” since I made it through the day delighted by the vast variety of delicious raw, green, plant-based foods.

After I picked up virtually every green raw fruit and vegetable at my disposal, I started to think about a recipe for raw broccoli “rice” but, as usual, my thoughts and taste buds took a turn to uncharted territory. Over the past couple of months I’ve written raw recipes inspired by foods from the Standard American Diet (S.A.D.) like carrot cake, chips and salsa, and cookies. This recipe was really fun for me because it’s like nothing I’ve made or tasted before. It’s refreshing, it’s savory, and for being bite-sized, it’s surprisingly filling! And since I can’t compare it to any familiar flavor, I leave you with the recipe to taste for yourself:

image (13)

Prep Time: 25 minutes

Yield: 10 cups, 2 servings

  • Ingredients:
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1/2 of an avocado
  • 1/2 cup fresh English peas
  • 2 TBSP soaked pumpkin seeds (soak in water for at least 6 hours, then rinse well)
  • 1/4 cup parsley
  • 1 TBSP fresh dill
  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 1 TSP lemon juice
  • 1 TBSP chopped fresh chives
  • 1 large cucumber

Directions:

1. In a food processor combine broccoli florets, avocado, English peas, pumpkin seeds, parsley, dill, garlic, and lemon juice.

photo (38)

2. Process the ingredients until they form a thick, uniform paste. This may take a minute or so of processing and pulsing. Set to the side.

image (9)

3. Using a handheld vegetable peeler, peel the cucumber in stripes, alternating between leaving 1 inch and 1/4 inch spaces. This is for nothing more than visual appeal and texture. You may prefer to peel all or none of the skin.

photo (39)

4. Cut the cucumber into ten evenly-sized slices, each approximately 1 inch thick and with a spoon, gently scoop out the top later of seeds of each slice. Be careful not to pierce through the cup and make a hole.

image (10)

5. To fill the cups, cut the corner of a plastic bag, insert a metal frosting nozzle through the cut corner, fill the bag with the broccoli spread, and squeeze about 1.5 TBSP of the spread into each of the cucumber cups (almost like frosting a cupcake). If you do not have these tools on hand, a small spoon would work fine to fill the cups.

image (11)

6. Sprinkle some fresh chives on top of each cup and garnish with some extra fresh parsley.

photo (40)

Extra:

Not a cucumber fan? This spread would be delicious in lettuce wraps or mixed into a salad!

Feeling fruity? Here was my celebratory St. Patty’s Day fruit salad. (Honey dew melon and kiwi clovers shaped with heart cookie stencils and green grape flowers):

image (12)

3 responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Cucumber Cups

Leave a Reply

