Apple Pie Pasta

For whatever reason, since I got my hands on a nifty spiralizer, I have only used it to prepare vegetable dishes–like zucchini pasta and cucumber salad spirals. Finally, it dawned on me that I could use the thing to also make sweet dessert pastas with fruits like apples and even pears. I was going to call this super simple dish “apple pie” but since I used my spiralizer, I think it sounds even better to say “apple pasta.” After all, we eat with all five senses, so making sure something sounds delicious and unique is almost as important as how it tastes–almost.

It’s also amazing how you can create something so spectacular with only a few ingredients. I know some people think that the more ingredients, the better the taste and the better for you. As I’v noted in previous posts, I think the total opposite. If I can make my taste buds happy with only 1, 2, 3 or 4 ingredients, I’m not going to look for more that will only make my digestive tract work harder. With that said, this 4-ingredient-recipe does violate proper food combining “rules,” as there is a mixture of fruit with a very small amount of nuts. So if you are super sensitive to nut and fruit combining, or you want to keep it fat free, I suggest replacing the walnuts with sun-dried figs. Fortunately for me, I was able to enjoy this entire plate of apple pie pasta for lunch today with nothing but a full, smiling stomach!

image (35)

Prep Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 1 hr. 25 minutes

Yield: 1 Bowl

Ingredients:
  • 3 large apples (I used Pink Ladies) (only 1 apple if you are not making your own juice)
  • 1 cup pitted Medjool dates
  • 1/2 TSP Cinnamon
  • 1 TBSP soaked raw walnuts (soak in water for at least 4 hours, then rinse well)

Directions:

1. Send 2 apples through a juicer. Place 3/4 cup of dates in the juice and let soak for at least one hour.

image (26)

image (33)

2. For the crumble, place walnuts, remaining 1/4 cup dates, and 1/4 TSP cinnamon into a small food processor or blender and pulse until the mixture forms a chopped crumble. Do not over process or blend, as the mixture will turn to a paste.

image (27)

3. Peel the remaining apple, do not core. Secure one end of the apple (the bottom of the core) into the crank of the spiralizer and the other end into the straight blade. If you do not have a spiralizer, you can core the apple and use a knife to make very thin slices. Discard any seeds and layer the slices on top of one another in a shallow bowl.

image (31)

image (29)

4. Pour the date and apple mixture into a high-speed blender and blend on high for about 30-40 seconds. The heat from the blender actually warms the sauce, yum! pour this mixture over your apple stack.

image (30)

5. Top it all off with your date/walnut crumble. Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 TSP cinnamon over top. Garnish with extra apple slices or mint leaves.

Extra:

Got some extra time? Mix the pasta, sauce, and crumble together and let it sit in the fridge for 4-5 hours. The apples soften as they absorb the sauce and become extra sweet!

image (36)

image (37)

7 responses to “Apple Pie Pasta

  1. Pingback: The 7 Day RAW Challenge | Simply Whole Foods·

Leave a Reply

