Fruit Salsa Boats

A typical dinner for me is usually a jumbo salad of greens and non-sweet fruits like tomato, zucchini, bell peppers, and cucumbers. But some nights, come dinner time, I’ll still want to nosh on sweet fruits, which are what I routinely have for breakfast, lunch, and snacks. These lettuce boats are my way of blending the two. I satisfy my sweet fruit craving with this non-traditional salsa and I get my greens from romaine hearts (nature’s serving dish). Another great thing about this meal is that there is virtually no clean up! All you need to wash is a cutting board, a knife, and your fingers. Skip the forks and knives– raw food is more fun than that!

lettuce wrap

Prep Time:  15 minutes

Yield: 8 Boats

Ingredients:

Boat:

  • 1 head of romaine lettuce. I used Artisan Romaine, since it has a curvier shape and holds the salsa in place.

Fruit Salsa:

  • 2 ripe Ataulfo mangos, peeled and diced (Any mango will do, but I prefer Ataulfo for this recipe because it is super sweet and has a string-less flesh)
  • 2 kiwis, peeled and diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 bell pepper (any color, I used orange), diced
  • 1 to 2 cups of grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 an avocado, diced (optional)
  • 1 Handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1/2-1 lime

Directions:

1. Peel, dice, and chop all of the salsa ingredients and combine in a large bowl.

2. Peel the romaine leaves one by one from the head and spread on your cutting board. Fill the romaine boats with the salsa and enjoy!

IMG_0843

4 responses to “Fruit Salsa Boats

Leave a Reply

