Blackberry Lavender Sorbet

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted a recipe on With Raw Intentions. Ok, it’s been a long while. Sometimes that pesky thing called life gets in the way and finding time to play and experiment in the kitchen escapes me. The good news is that the grass is turning green, the sun is once again shedding its warmth on New York City, and some free time and recipe inspiration are finally coming back to me.

I (and you!) have Whole Foods to thank for this really refreshing spring dessert. They were having a sale on fresh, organic blackberries so I naturally bought enough boxes to make the cashier ask whether I survive solely on the sweet things.

I came up with the idea for a blackberry lavender vanilla sorbet and thought it sounded awesome on paper, but I was wary of what it would actually taste like.

IMG_5652

Well, when the paper and my tastebuds aligned, I could not have been more delighted! The fresh lavender gives this dessert the most deliciously refreshing, and even calming, taste. It’s perfect for the warmer months, and this is one recipe that I’ll be sure to share with friends and family during our summer weekends together. If you make a batch of this sorbet, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Leave me a comment here or on facebook.com/withrawintentions and let me know what you think of the clean, unique flavor combo!

photo 2 (1)

Prep Time:  15 minutes

Yield: Approximately 4 cups

Ingredients:

  • 5-7 Frozen bananas
  • 1 Cup fresh blackberries + extra for topping
  • 1/4 Tsp. Vanilla bean (grated)
  • 1/4 Tsp.  Cinnamon
  • 8-12 Fresh culinary lavender leaves (a dash of lavender extract would work if you can’t find the fresh herb)
  • 1/2 Cup Almond milk (I use this recipe), cashew milk, OR coconut milk
  • 1-2 Tbsp. dried coconut flakes (optional for topping)

IMG_5660

Directions:

1. In a high-speed blender, combine all ingredients. I HIGHLY recommend a Vitamix Blender for this recipe. Any time I blend frozen bananas, it’s especially helpful to use the plastic tamper, which allows you to push the contents into the blade for even and thorough blending.

2. Eat the sorbet right away if you prefer a creamy, “soft-serve” texture.

3. For a firmer, icier consistency, pour the mixture into a glass bowl and freeze for 2-3 hours before serving. Top with extra chopped blackberries and coconut flakes.

Enjoy!

IMG_5668

photo 1 (2)

photo 3

One response to “Blackberry Lavender Sorbet

  1. Such beautiful food…wow…thank you for showcasing all the amazing, delicious, healthy things we can get directly from the earth, not “filtered” through poor abused animals.

Leave a Reply

